Required documentation:

  1. Nominators will fill out a short nomination form at
  2. Nominees will be contacted at a later date and asked to provide a CV and 1-2 reference letters from a colleague or administrator.

The deadline for nominations for a given school year is 31 May.

Outstanding Teacher Awards

Each year the BCAMT recognizes outstanding teaching in BC with the Outstanding Teacher Awards for a new teacher, an elementary teacher, and a secondary teacher.

Ivan L. Johnson Memorial Award

The Ivan L. Johnson Memorial Award is awarded in honour of longtime BCAMT executive member Ivan Johnson.  Ivan donated money to the BCAMT for an award in which the recipient will receive significant funding to cover costs of attending the NCTM Annual Conference.  For more information on Ivan and his legacy please visit

Service Award

The BCAMT service award is awarded to an educator who has provided extraordinary service to the BCAMT for a significant period of time.

Previous Recipients

Honourary Lifetime Memberships
Grace Fraser Dr. James Sherrill Dr. Tom O’Shea Ian deGroot Garry Phillips
Year Outstanding Teacher Award Service Award Ivan L. Johnson Memorial Award
Elementary Secondary New
1986 Dominic Alvaro
1987 Norma Norris Jim Swift
1988 Mignonne Wood Bill Kokoskin
1989 Trevor Calkins Zoe Wakelin
1990 Peggy Williamson Betty Milne
1991 Thor Fridriksson Jane Hurley
1992 Suzanne Cairney John Klassen
1993 Darlene Shandola Kanwal Neel
1994 Cathy Gilmour Ian deGroot
1995 Karen Chong Linda Rajotte
1996 Linda D’Entremont Ivan Johnson
1997 Joanne Keller James Nakamoto
1998 Helen Hait Jeff Moss
1999 Stella Tossell Sue Haberger
2000 Jack Kinakin Wendy Swonnell Chris Van Bergeyk Phil Mendez
2001 George Prevost Ken Mayson Brad Epp Stewart Lynch
2002 Cary Chien
2003 Christian Dy Misty Patterson
2004 Dennis Giesbrecht David Suffrin Sherilyn Heal
Mark Healy
2005 Lorraine Baron
2006 Sandy Baird Denise Vuignier
2008 Colleen World Ron Coleborn Heather Mosher
2009 Trisha Wong Danny Young
2011 Michelle Relova Fred Harwood
2012 Sarah Schnare Amos Lee Dave Ellis Amos Lee
2013 Janice Novakowski Dennis Kirkey Sarah Schnare
2014 Gurjit Pattar Susan Robinson
2015 Donna Bletcher Kimberly Briggs Daryl Goeson
2016 Katie McCormack Maria Nicolidakis
2017 Kristy Doornbos Jennifer Kirkey
2018 Alex Sabell Daniel Muller Alex Sabell